(H1) Florida Laws on Driving Under the Influence
In the state of Florida, individuals who have never held a driver’s license are required by law to take a special Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course before they can obtain a license to drive. The course may also be required by the court for certain individuals who have been convicted of driving while under the influence or other alcohol or drug offenses. Anyone who graduates from a TLSAE course from an approved provider such as Ticket School will be armed with a wealth of knowledge that will improve their vehicular safety skills and aid them in avoiding the negative consequences of impaired driving (drugs or alcohol). These consequences include substantial legal penalties, which we will outline here.
(H2) What Constitutes Driving Under the Influence in Florida?
Florida law defines driving under the influence as operating a vehicle while either of the following conditions apply:
- A blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 100 mL of blood.
- A breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 210 L of breath.
For drivers under the age of 21, the legal blood-alcohol limit is only 0.02%.
(H2) Penalties for a First-Time DUI Conviction in Florida
Individuals found guilty of DUI in Florida are subject to various legal penalties, such as these:
- A fine of $500 to $1000 (higher if a minor is in the vehicle or the driver’s blood-alcohol level is at least 0.15%).
- 50 hours of community service (or, in some cases, a fine of $10 for each hour of service ordered by the court).
- Up to one year of probation.
- A jail sentence of up to six months (up to nine months if a minor is in the vehicle or the driver’s blood-alcohol level is at least 0.15%).
- Impoundment of vehicle for ten days (which cannot overlap with the period of incarceration).
- Revocation of driver’s license for a period of 180 days or up to one year.
It should be noted that drivers are subject to enhanced penalties if they (1) had a blood-alcohol level of 0.15% or more, (2) were driving with a minor, or (3) caused damage to property or bodily harm to another party during the incident in question. These enhanced penalties include installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for a minimum of six continuous months.
Ticket School offers a 100% online TLSAE course that complies with State of Florida regulations and delivers a highly engaging educational experience—it’s an excellent low-cost opportunity to learn vehicular safety and how alcohol and drugs affect the driving task.